Sports History By Dr.David Davis


Martin, Phillips, Wells named as TD Club finalist


HOUSTON — While the high school football playoffs are still going on, the Touchdown Club of Houston will host the 34th annual UIL Football Awards Dinner on Wednesday, December 11 at 7:00 p.m. at the JW Marriott Hotel (near the Galleria).

Some of the outstanding area coaches as well as several offensive and defensive players will be honored.

Finalists for "Coach of the Year" in Greater Houston UIL schools are: Eliot Allen, Stratford; David Aymond, North Shore; Stephen Dixon, Reagan; Gary Joseph, Katy; Corby Meekins, Westfield; Ed Pustejovsky, Cy-Fair; Mark Schmid, The Woodlands; Leland Surovik, Texas City; Ricky Tullos, George Ranch; and Eric Wells, Dawson.

Finalists for the "Defensive Player of the Year" in Greater Houston UIL schools are: Jake Blomstrom, Katy; John Bonney, Lamar; Tsola Efejeku, George Ranch; Jarrett Johnson, Seven Lakes; Koda Martin, Manvel; Travor Myklebust, Fort Bend Austin; Brian Peavy, Westfield; Justin Phillips, Pearland; Trent Soechting, Cinco Ranch; and Zach Whitley, North Shore

Finalists for the "Offensive Player of the Year in Greater Houston UIL schools are: Darrell Colbert, Lamar; Demarcus Felton, Dekaney; Armanti Foreman, Texas City; David Hamm, Klein; Dominique Harris, Langham Creek; Bobby Hartzog, Westside; Jarrett Hildreth, Clear Creek; Marcus Oliver, Westfield; Aaron Sharp, Summer Creek; and Najee Toran, North Shore.


Dawson head coach Eric Wells is no stranger to this honor as this is his fourth time to be named as a "Coach of the Year" finalist in the past five years. The other previous times were in 2008, 2010, and 2012

This year, Dawson is currently 11-2 and is playing in the Class 4A Region III Div. I championship game against the Stratford Spartans (11-2)

Dawson began playing varsity football in 2008 and Wells has posted a sparkling 59-18 overall record with two 4A Div. I Region III titles and the 2012 District 24-4A championship. Dawson has appeared in two 4A Div. I state semifinals. The Eagles are 28-12 in district play

Wells will be joined by Pearland senior linebacker as a "Defensive Player of the Year" finalists who has given a verbal commitment to continue his education and playing career for the Oklahoma State Cowboys.

Phillips has 80 tackles with 52 unassisted and 28 assisted stops. He has three pass break-ups, two sacks, 12 tackles for loss, one fumble recovery, and two interceptions including one critical INT against Lamar in helping the Oilers to the 21-13 win to advance to the 5A Region III Div. I finals this coming Saturday.


Manvel's Koda Martin is also a finalist for the "Defensive Player of the Year" award. Son of head coach Kirk Martin, Koda has given a verbal commitment to Texas A&M. At the end of the regular season before the playoffs, Martin had 50 total tackles with 19 unassisted and 31 assisted stops. He has eight tackles for loss, 3.5 sacks, 21 hurries, one interception, and three caused fumbles.

Pearland is no stranger to these honors as Pearland head coach Tony Heath was named "Coach of the Year" in 2010 after the Oilers captured their first-ever 5A Div. I state championship. Heath was named as a finalist seven other times prior to receiving this award.

Dustin Garrison (2010) and Fozzy Whittaker (2006) won "Offensive Player of the Year" while Chris Alexander (2011) and Jarrad Stewart (2008) received the "Defensive Player of the Year" honors.

Manvel QB Shane McCarley, who is now a redshirt freshman at Old Dominion, was named "Offensive Player of the Year" in 2012.

<< back to Daily 411

Browser Compatibility: This website works well on IE8, Mozilla Firefox 3.x.x and Google Chrome 6.0.XXX
FREELY Download the latest version of browsers here: Download IE8 | Download Mozilla Firefox | Download Google Chrome